World Cup 2022 Liveblog Day 5: Updates, Goals, Highlights

WELCOME TO DAY 5 OF THE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIPS!!! What a fantastic start to the tournament, with huge upsets, some incredible team performances and plenty of goals from the first four games. And the last eight sides yet to make their debuts are all playing for the first time in what promises to be an exciting day in Qatar.

It all starts at Al Wakrah with a fascinating duel between Switzerland and Cameroon who start the action in a very deep Group G. The Swiss have been talented and entertaining in international competition for almost a decade and this could only be their best, deepest team yet. But Cameroon also have a wealth of talent in some of the best teams and leagues in the world and this promises a physical, attacking fight to start the day off right.

Next up is Group H’s opening game in Ar-Rayyan, where Ronald Araujo’s Uruguay take on South Korea. Araujo has not played for Barça since suffering an injury at Uruguay that required surgery but the defender has worked very hard to make himself available for the tournament. There’s a chance he’s already playing today, which is very premature given the nature of his injury, but all Barça fans can hope he doesn’t aggravate the problem. But even without Araujo, Uruguay are more than capable of going deep into the tournament with their talent in midfield and attack. South Korea is getting better and better internationally and Son Heung-Min is their hope of an upset in a very interesting group.

The third game of the day takes place in Doha with the debut of one of the big favorites as Portugal take on Ghana. The Portuguese are hoping to recover from their poor performance at last year’s EURO and have an obvious talisman that we need not mention. He also has a slew of talent around him, including Barça transfer target Bernardo Silva, who has a real chance of becoming one of the tournament’s players if Portugal go far.

Finally, Raphinha’s Brazilians meet Serbia in Lusail in a repeat of the group stage of the 2018 World Cup. That selection are shortlisted as favourites, but getting out of their group will not be an easy task. And the Serbs are as tough an opponent as Brazil could have hoped for given their physicality and attacking talent. This could be one of the best games of the group stage and Brazil need all three points to avoid qualifying drama.

It’s going to be a fun day and you’re most welcome to join us to follow and comment on all the action. Vamos!


LIVE BLOG


POSITIONS

Brazil XI: Alison; Danilo, Marquinhos, Silva, Sandro; Casemiro; Raphinha, Paquetá, Neymar, Vinicius; Richarlison (4-1-4-1)

Serbia XI: Milinkovic-Savic; Veljkovic, Milenkovic, Pavlovic; Zivkovic, Milinkovic-Savic, Gudelj, Lukic, Mladenovic; Tadic; Mitrovic (3-5-1-1)

GAME INFO

competition/round: FIFA World Cup 2022, Group G, Matchday 1

appointment time: Thursday, November 24, 2022 at 10:00 p.m. local time, 8:00 p.m. CET/WAT (Barcelona and Nigeria), 7:00 p.m. GMT (UK), 2:00 p.m. ET, 11:00 a.m. PT (USA) , 00:30 IST (India, Friday)

Venue: Lusail Stadium, Al Dayyan, Qatar

referee: Alireza Faghani (IRN)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP

As seen on TV: FS1 (USA), TSN 1 (Canada), BBC One (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sports18 (India), Gol Mundial (Spain), others

How to watch online: FOX Sports App, Sling TV (US), BBC iPlayer (UK), others


POSITIONS

Portugal XI: costa; Cancelo, Dias, Danilo, Guerreiro; Bernardo, Neves, Fernandes; Otavio, Ronaldo, Felix (4-3-3)

Ghana XI: Ati-Zigi; Seidu, Amartey, Djiku, Salisu, Baba; Kudu, Samed, Partey, Ayew; Williams (5-4-1)

GAME INFO

competition/round: FIFA World Cup 2022, Group H, Matchday 1

appointment time: Thursday, November 24, 2022 at 7:00 p.m. local time, 5:00 p.m. CET/WAT (Barcelona and Nigeria), 4:00 p.m. GMT (UK), 11:00 a.m. ET, 8:00 a.m. PT (USA) , 9:30 p.m. IST (India)

Venue: Stadium 974, Doha, Qatar

referee: Ismail Elfath (USA)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP

As seen on TV: FS1 (USA), TSN 1 (Canada), ITV 1 (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sports18 (India), Gol Mundial (Spain), others

How to watch online: FOX Sports App, Sling TV (US), ITV Hub (UK), others


POSITIONS

Uruguay XI: rochet; Caceres, Giménez, Godín, Olivera; Valverde, Vecino, Bentancur, Pellistri; Suarez, Nunez (4-4-2)

South Korea XI: Kim SG; Kim MH, Kim MJ, Kim YG, Kim JS; Hwang IB, Jung; Why, Lee, son; Hwang HC (4-2-3-1)

GAME INFO

competition/round: FIFA World Cup 2022, Group H, Matchday 1

appointment time: Thursday, November 24, 2022 at 4:00 p.m. local time, 2:00 p.m. CET/WAT (Barcelona and Nigeria), 1:00 p.m. GMT (UK), 8:00 a.m. ET, 5:00 a.m. PT (USA) , 6:30 p.m. IST (India)

Venue: Education City Stadium, Doha, Qatar

referee: Clement Turpin (FRA)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP

As seen on TV: FS1 (USA), TSN 1 (Canada), BBC One (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sports18 (India), Gol Mundial (Spain), others

How to watch online: FOX Sports App, Sling TV (US), BBC iPlayer (UK), others


POSITIONS

Cameroon XI: Onana; Fai, Castelletto, N’Koulou, Tolo; Anguissa, Gouet, Hongla; Mbeumo, Choupo Moting, Ekambi (4-3-3)

GAME INFO

competition/round: FIFA World Cup 2022, Group G, Matchday 1

appointment time: Thursday, November 24, 2022 at 1:00 p.m. local time, 11:00 a.m. CET/WAT (Barcelona and Nigeria), 10:00 a.m. GMT (UK), 5:00 a.m. ET, 2:00 a.m. PT (USA) , 3:30 p.m. IST (India)

Venue: Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah, Qatar

referee: Facundo Tello (ARG)

HOW TO WATCH, STREAM 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP

As seen on TV: FS1 (USA), TSN 1 (Canada), ITV 1 (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sports18 (India), Gol Mundial (Spain), others

How to watch online: FOX Sports App, Sling TV (US), ITV Hub (UK), others


Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have many rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when participating in our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game watch the cursing. It’s just unnecessary. Likewise, do not discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do are warned and those who post links will be banned immediately. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend each other.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, regardless of the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!

Leave a Comment