Which World Cup games are taking place today? Schedule for December 6th

Which World Cup games are taking place today? The December 6 schedule originally appeared on NBC Sports Philadelphia

On Tuesday, the final two places in the 2022 FIFA World Cup quarter-finals will be decided.

So far, the Netherlands, Argentina, France, England, Croatia and Brazil have all holed their tickets after winning their round of 16 games, giving the remaining four teams two more chances.

Which four nations are competing for it? Let’s take a look at the remaining squads for the round of 16 in Qatar:

Morocco vs. Spain

The biggest dark horse of the 2022 World Championship takes center stage against a European powerhouse. Morocco led a Group F with Belgium, Croatia and Canada on a 2-1-0 win-draw-loss record. The Atlas Lions reached the knockout stages for only the second time in their history, having also finished first in Group F in 1986. However, the price for it was not the best.

Spain, who finished second in Group E after a surprise defeat by Japan, are looking to regain the form they beat Costa Rica 7-0 in the World Cup opener. La Furia Roja, who also lost to Russia in the round of 16 in 2018, struggled against Germany and Japan in front of goal and meets a tight Moroccan defense who have conceded just once in the tournament – and it wasn’t against Croatia or Belgium.

Kick-off time is 10:00am ET, 7:00am PT, which is 6:00pm local in Qatar.

Portugal vs Switzerland

In the second and final game of the day, Portugal meets Switzerland. Portugal led Group H after victories over Ghana and Uruguay but were eliminated late on by South Korea, although it wasn’t enough to drop them below first place. The Portuguese side have seen Bruno Fernandes take the lead with two goals and two assists while Cristiano Ronaldo has remained largely silent with just one penalty shootout.

On the other hand, Switzerland competed as one of the dark horses in Qatar and so far have proved up to the task. The Swiss finished second in Group G after beating Cameroon 1-0 and Serbia 3-2 in the final, while their only defeat was a narrow 1-0 affair against Brazil. Of the teams that have qualified for the round of 16, Switzerland are the most balanced and experienced team lacking an all-superstar and it should be a close affair.

Kick-off is at 2pm ET and 11am PT, which is 10pm in Qatar.

The winners of both matchups would go head-to-head in the Quarterfinals on Saturday, December 10 at 10am ET, 7am PT.

Source

Leave a Comment