When is Ballon d’Or 2022? Date, time, TV channel, live stream, venue and how it works

The Ballon d’Or has long been considered the highest individual award in football.

The “Golden Ball” has been awarded since 1956. Lionel Messi has won the trophy seven times, record winner, Cristiano Ronaldo second with five times. Luka Modric is the only player whose name is not Messi or Ronaldo who has won the Ballon d’Or since 2008.

In 2022, however, Messi didn’t even make the shortlist of finalists, with Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema seen as the most likely winner.

We’ll know soon enough who the next Ballon d’Or winner will be as football night of nights is coming up.

MORE: Ballon d’Or 2022 finalists | Who will win the 2022 Ballon d’Or?

When is Ballon d’Or 2022?

The 2022 Ballon d’Or ceremony continues Monday 17 October at the Theater du Chatelet in Paris.

The procedure is expected to begin at 20:30 local time in France.

This year’s award will be selected based on a timeline of the 2021/22 European club season, which differs from the previous full calendar year awards timeline.

US CAN United Kingdom OUT
start time 2:30 p.m. ET 2:30 p.m. ET 19:30 CET 05:30 CEST

Ballon d’Or TV Channel Live Stream

The 2022 Ballon d’Or ceremony is free to stream live on L’Equipe’s YouTube channel and website in most regions of the world.

Paramount+ will stream the event for US subscribers.

French publication L’Equipe is the creator and custodian of the annual Ballon d’Or award and therefore has control over the broadcast of the event. The publication had a brief partnership with FIFA for the Ballon d’Or between 2010 and 2015, but that is no longer the case as FIFA releases its own individual awards.

Who are the Ballon d’Or 2022 finalists?

There are 30 players shortlisted for the 2022 Men’s Ballon d’Or award.

The favorites include Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (2021/22 at Bayern Munich, now at FC Barcelona), Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City) and Mohamed Salah (Liverpool).

Benzema is considered the winner after guiding Real Madrid to a double in La Liga and Champions League and becoming top scorer in both competitions.

There are 20 nominees for the women’s award, including three players from Euro 2022 champions England, three Americans, Australian star Sam Kerr and 2021 winner Alexia Putellas.

MORE: Full 2022 Ballon d’Or shortlists for men and women

Betting favorites for the 2022 Ballon d’Or men

Odds via PaddyPower (UK)

player Club (2021/22) nationality opportunities
Karim Benzema real Madrid France 1/33
Kylian Mbappe PSG France 16/1
Erling Haland Borussia Dortmund Norway 16/1
Mohammed Salah Liverpool Egypt 25/1
Virgil van Dijk Liverpool Netherlands 25/1
Robert Lewandowski Bayern Munich Poland 33/1
Kevin De Bruyne man city Belgium 33/1

How is the Ballon d’Or winner selected?

Every year, players, coaches and journalists cast their vote to decide the winner of the Ballon d’Or.

Before 2007, only journalists were allowed to vote before national team coaches and captains were allowed to have their say.

The voting criteria were recently updated to eliminate consideration of overall career performance and instead focus on three main factors:

  1. Individual service in the pre-season (no longer by calendar year);
  2. team success in the previous season;
  3. Player behavior and fair play taken into account during the season.

Previous Ballon d’Or winners

Messi is the youngest Ballon d’Or winner, having taken home the award in 2021 ahead of Robert Lewandowski.

The honor was not awarded in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, with Messi also winning the award in 2019 after edging out Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk by just seven votes.

Ballon d’Or winner since 2000

Year player
2021 Lionel Messi
2020 N / A
2019 Lionel Messi
2018 Luke Modric
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo
2015 Lionel Messi
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo
2012 Lionel Messi
2011 Lionel Messi
2010 Lionel Messi
2009 Lionel Messi
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo
2007 cocoa
2006 Fabio Cannavaro
2005 Ronaldinho
2004 Andriy Shevchenko
2003 Pavel Nedved
2002 ronaldo
2001 Michael Owen
2000 Luis Figo

Leave a Comment