Tubelis added to Wooden Award watchlist for late season

LOS ANGELES, CA (January 30, 2023) – The Los Angeles Athletic Club announced the John R. Wooden Award® presented by Wendy’s® Late Season Top 20 Watch List today on ESPN2. Chosen by a poll of national college basketball experts based on their past performances in the 2022-23 season, the list includes 20 student-athletes who are front-runners for the sport’s most prestigious award.

Arizona’s Azuolas Tubelis is one of two Pac-12 players on last as he leads the conference in goals (20.0) and rebounds (9.6) and has six games this season with 20 points and 10 rebounds .

In the 2023 Wooden Award™ Late Season Top 20, three players make their Wooden Watch™ debuts: Keyontae Johnson (Kansas State), Markquis Nowell (Kansas State), and Jalen Pickett (Penn State). One school has multiple players on the list: Kansas State (Johnson & Nowell).

The ACC, Big Ten, and Big 12 lead all conferences with four selections each in the Wooden Award Late Season Top 20, followed by American, Pac-12, and SEC with two selections each, and Horizon and WCC with one selection each.

Players on the list are considered strong contenders for Wendy’s 2023 John R. Wooden Award Men’s Player of the Year. Players not included in the late-season list remain eligible for the Wooden Award™ National Ballot. The National Ballot is comprised of 15 top players who have proven to their universities that they meet or exceed the Wooden Award qualifications. Nearly 1,000 voters will be ranked in order of 10 of those 15 players when pre-NCAA tournament voting begins, allowing voters to consider performance during first-round games. The Wooden Award All American Team™ will be announced during the week of the Elite Eight round of the NCAA tournament. The 2023 John R. Wooden Award winner will be announced by Wendy’s following the NCAA tournament in April.

Armando Bacot, North Carolina
Antoine DavisDetroit Mercy
Kendric Davis, Memphis
Zach Edey, Purdue
Kyle Filipowski, Duke
Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana
Jaime Jaquez Jr., UCLA
Keyontae Johnson, State of Kansas
Mike Miles Jr., TCU
Brandon Miller, Alabama
Kris Murray, Iowa
Markquis Nowell, State of Kansas
Jalen Pickett, Penn State
Marcus Sasser, Houston
Terquavion Smith, State NC
Drew Timme#*, Gonzaga
Oscar Tshiebwe **, Kentucky
Azuolas TubelisArizona
Jalen Wilson, Kansas
Isaiah Wong, Miami (FL)

About the John R. Wooden Award
Established in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award Program hosts the most prestigious honors in college basketball, recognizing the Wooden Award Most Outstanding Player for men and women, the Wooden Award All America Teams for men and women, and the annual Wooden Award pick Legend of the coaching recipient. Award winners have demonstrated to their university that they meet or exceed the John R. Wooden Award qualifications as determined by Coach Wooden and the Wooden Award Steering Committee, including progressing toward completion and maintaining a cumulative GPA of at least 2.0. Past winners include Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Kevin Durant (’07), Candace Parker (’07; ’08), Maya Moore (’09; ‘ 11). , Chiney Ogwumike (’14) and last year’s honorees, Aliyah Boston from South Carolina and Oscar Tshiebwe from Kentucky.
Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has donated nearly $1 million to the general university scholarship fund on behalf of Wooden Award All American recipients and sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to weeklong college basketball camps. In addition, each year the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The all-day tournament brings together Special Olympics athletes and Wooden Award All-Americans and attending coaches. It is hosted during the John R. Wooden Awards Weekend at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

The Legends of Coaching Award will be presented to Coach Dawn Staley, the 2023 honoree, along with the Wooden Award Men’s and Women’s Players of the Year on April 7, 2023. For the latest information on the Wooden Award, visit and follow the Wooden Award on Facebook at and @WoodenAward on Twitter and Instagram.


Leave a Comment