Start time, how to see and stream the anchor

Former Eagles head coach Dick Vermeil will be officially inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, an honor that crowns a football career spanning nearly five decades.

Vermeil will be the last of eight inductees to be anchored during a lunchtime ceremony at the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, which will be broadcast live on ESPN and the NFL Network. There, Vermeil’s bust will be unveiled, and the emotional head coach will attempt to summarize his thoughts and feelings in an eight-minute speech.

“I hope they give me a minute or two last if I run over,” Vermeil said during a 94.1 WIP Sunday interview with Glen Macnow and Jody McDonald. “It is what it is and I couldn’t be more grateful than I am.”

» READ MORE: Dick Vermeil’s Hall of Fame coaching career was fueled by a fire that nearly burned him

Also inducted into the Hall of Fame on Saturday is Philadelphia native Art McNally, the first NFL umpire to be inducted and known as the “father of instant replay.” He introduced rules that modernized the game and developed the standards the league uses to rate its umpires.

“My philosophy has always been, ‘Make the right call,'” McNally told the Daily News in 1990. “If it needs a review, fine. Just do it right.”

Here’s everything you need to know to watch or stream the 2022 Pro Football Hall of Fame entrenchment ceremony:

The Class of 2022 induction ceremony is scheduled to begin at 12 p.m. Eastern and will be broadcast live on ESPN and the NFL Network.

The ceremony will be streamed live on the ESPN app, though it’s only available there to cable subscribers. Fans can also stream the ceremony on a variety of services covering both networks, including FuboTV, Hulu With Live TV, DirecTV Stream, Sling TV, or YouTube TV.

Philadelphia native Suzy Kolber will be hosting ESPN’s coverage, along with Bucks County native and former Eagles front office manager Louis Riddick and longtime NFL insider Chris Mortensen. For the 22nd time, Chris Berman will moderate the ceremony.

Over on the NFL Network, coverage begins at 11:00 am with Rich Eisen (who recently signed a new contract with the network) and Hall of Famers Kurt Warner and Michael Irvin. Steve Mariucci, Willie McGinest and Steve Wyche will also participate in the coverage.

» READ MORE: Here are some tips if you’re thinking about driving from Philly to the Hall of Fame

Here are this year’s new additions in the order they will be speaking:

  1. Leroy Butler, Security, Green Bay Packers (1990-2001)

  2. Sam Mills, linebacker, New Orleans Saints (1986-1994); Carolina Panthers (1995-1997)

  3. Richard Seymour, defensive end/defensive tackle, New England Patriots (2001-2008); Oakland Raiders (2009-2012)

  4. Art McNally, NFL Official/Administrator (1959-2015)

  5. Tony BosselliTackle, Jacksonville Jaguars (1995-2001)

  6. Bryant YoungDefensive end/defensive tackle, San Francisco 49ers (1994-2007)

  7. cliff branchWide Receiver, Oakland/LA Raiders (1972-1985)

  8. Dick VermeilHead Coach, Philadelphia Eagles (1976–1982), St. Louis Rams (1997–1999), Kansas City Chiefs (2001–2005)

Mills and Branch are admitted posthumously – Mills by his widow Melanie and Branch by his sister Elaine Anderson. Mills died in 2005 after a battle with colon cancer, while Branch died in 2019 at the age of 71.

McNally, who is 97, recorded a speech that will be broadcast as he is honored. Shannon O’Hara, his granddaughter, will speak on stage when his bust is unveiled.

» READ MORE: Art McNally’s induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame was his late daughter’s dream

With this year’s class, 362 players, coaches and administrators were elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The Eagles are represented by 12 Hall of Famers who made the greatest contribution of their Philadelphia careers. Other Hall of Famers, such as Terrell Owens and Cris Carter, played for the Eagles but spent most of their careers elsewhere.

The Hall of Famers representing the Eagles are:

  • Eagles co-founder Bert Bell (1963)

  • Running Back Steve Van Buren (1965)

  • Linebacker Chuck Bednarik (1967)

  • Eagles head coach Earle “Greasy” Neale (1969)

  • Wide receiver Pete Pihos (1970)

  • Quarterback Sonny Jurgensen (1983)

  • Halfback Tommy McDonald (1998)

  • Defensive End Reggie White (2006)

  • Offensive lineman Bob “Boomer” Brown (2014)

  • Security Brian Dawkins (2018)

  • Wide receiver Harold Carmichael (2020)

  • Head Coach Dick Vermeil (2022)

The busts of this year’s nominees will be added to the gallery on Sunday, the day after their unveiling.

Vermeil wears his heart on his sleeve, but he’s kept his NFL secrets in giant binders.

One of these is his offensive notebook from the 1982 Eagles season, which contains about 700 pages of formations, plays and definitions for players to learn. It also includes touches of Vermeil’s connection to the team, such as a heartfelt introduction dedicated to six former players and coaches who have taken jobs at other teams but “illustrate what it means to be an Eagle”.

Vermeil donated other game books, including a 2005 Kansas City Chiefs offensive binder and his game book while he was head coach of the then St. Louis Rams. Vermeil was also the first special teams coach in NFL history, and features his 1969 Los Angeles Rams playbook.

Vermiel also donated the Eagles hat, which he wore during the 1980 season, his first as the team’s head coach. He also presented two pieces of clothing — an Eagles polo shirt he wore during the 1980 season and the Rams windbreaker jacket he wore in 2000, the year they won the Super Bowl.

» READ MORE: 9 Hidden Eagles Items in the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Leave a Comment