RTM broadcasts 41 matches of the FIFA World Cup Qatar

Radio Televisyen Malaysia (RTM) has announced that it will broadcast the 2022 FIFA World Cup, which will be held in Qatar from 20 November to 18 December. Alongside Astro for the pay TV segment, the K-KOMM outfit is the only official Malaysian free-to-air broadcaster for the event to date.

Similar to the previous edition in 2018, RTM will present 41 games out of 64 at the event, which amounts to around 130 hours of gameplay. Of those games, only 27 will be shown live by the public broadcaster, but RTM has guaranteed that the live games listing will still include the final.

Another guaranteed live game is the first game of the event, which will be played between hosts Qatar and Ecuador on November 21 at 00:00 Malaysian time. From the other 14 games it will be shown in the form of time-shifted television broadcasts.

[Image: K-KOMM / Facebook.]

Football fans across the country can watch RTM’s coverage of the FIFA World Cup Qatar through three free-to-air channels including TV2, TV Okey and Sukan RTM. In addition to the three TV channels, the event will also be available via the broadcaster’s online streaming platform RTMKlik.


Meanwhile, RTM announced that it has to shell out RM32.5 million to enable the broadcasting of the FIFA World Cup in Qatar. It is therefore not surprising that in his speech today, Communications and Multimedia Minister Annuar Musa called on government-related companies and the private sector to come and work with the national public broadcaster to offset the costs.

Mascot of the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar.
This year’s mascot is called La’eeb, which means ‘super talented player’ in Arabic. [Image: Qatar2022.qa / FIFA.]

Instead of the usual mid-year schedule, Qatar is hosting the FIFA World Cup in November/December to avoid the sweltering summer weather. The event will also be the first FIFA World Cup to feature semi-automated offside detection technology, utilizing a built-in sensor inside the Adidas Al Rihla Pro ball along with multiple tracking cameras and artificial intelligence.

In this context, Qatar will also be the last 32-team FIFA World Cup as the number of teams for the 2026 edition, co-hosted by the United States, Mexico and Canada, is increased to 48 teams.

(Source: Berita RTM, K-KOMM / Facebook.)

follow us on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter or telegram for more updates and breaking news.

Leave a Comment