Match Preview // 15/13 K-State plays Kentucky for Sweet 16 Berth

Full version available here
NCAA Tournament History Available here
clip package Available here
Season Guide 2022-23 Available here
2022-23 TV/Radio Speed ‚Äč‚ÄčTable Available here

15/13 [3-seed] KANSAS STATE (24-9, 11-7 Big 12) vs. [6-seed] KENTUCKY (22-11, 12-6 SECONDS)

Second round of the NCAA East Regional
Sunday March 19, 2023 >> 1:40 pm CT >> Greensboro Coliseum (20,000) >> Greensboro, NC


CBS/March Madness App (link here)

  • Ian Eagle (Play by Play)
  • Jim Spanarkel (Analyst)
  • Evan Washburn (sideline reporter)
  • Craig Silver (Producer)


Westwood One [link here]

Satellite Radio: Sirius XM Ch. 134 or 202

  • Bill Rosinski (Play by Play)
  • Austin Croshere (Analyst)


K-State Sports Network
Flagships: // KMAN 1350 & WIBW 580
Online: University network [free] / [free]

  • Wyatt Thompson (Play by Play)
  • Stan Weber (Analyst)

March madness


K state: Jerome Tang [Charter Oak State College ’07]

Record at K-State: 24-9/1. Year
Career record: 26-9/1. year+
against Kentucky: 0-0 [0-0 at K-State]

Kentucky: John Calipari [Clarion ’82]

Kentucky record: 387-112/14. Year
Career record: 832-252/31. Year
against K-State: 2-1 [1-1 at Kentucky]


NCAA tournament [appearance/last]: 38-35 [32nd/2019]

east regional [appearance/last]: 4-4 [5th/2012]

Second round [East Regional]: 7-5 [1-0]

In Greensboro, NC/Greensboro Coliseum: 1-1/1-1
As seed #3 [appearance]: 1-0 [1st]

vs. #6 seed [appearance]: 0-2 [3rd]


Overall: Kentucky leads 9-1
In the NCAA tournament: Kentucky leads 2-1
In Greensboro, NC: First meeting
Last Meeting: W, 61-58 [3/22/2018]

Active streak: K-state, 1st
Tang vs. Kentucky: 0-0 [0-0 at K-State]

Tang vs. John Calipari: 0-0 [0-0 at neutral site]


15/13 State of Kansas (24-9, 11-7 Big 12)
G: #1 Markquis Nowell

G: #5 Cam Carter

G: #13 desi sills

Q: #11 Keyontae Johnson

Q: #35 Nae’Qwan Tomlin

RV/RV Kentucky (22-11, 12-6 SEC)
G: #22 Cason Wallace
G: #12 Antonio Reeves
Q: #24 Chris Livingston
Q: #0 Jacob Toppin
Q: #34 Oscar Tshiebwe


No. 15/13 K-State (24-9, 11-7 Big 12) earned his first NCAA tournament win since 2018 and first under head coaching Jerome Tang on Friday night as the Wildcats clinched a 77-65 win over 14-man Montana State in front of a crowd of more than 17,000 at the Greensboro Coliseum. The win came at 1:40 p.m. (CT) Sunday afternoon in the second round of the East Regional against 6-seed Kentucky (22-11, 12-6 SEC). The game will air on CBS with Ian Eagle (play-by-play), Jim Spanarkel (analyst) and Evan Washburn (reporter). The winner will play either 2nd-ranked Marquette (29-6, 17-3 BIG EAST) or 7th-ranked Michigan State (20-12, 11-8 Big Ten) at Madison Square Garden next weekend.


  • K-State and Kentucky are meeting for the 11th time overall, including their fourth time in the NCAA tournament after games in 1951, 2014 and 2018. The SEC Wildcats have dominated the series and have a 9-1 advantage, including 2-1 in Play NCAA tournament. Kentucky won matchups in the 1951 NCAA championship game by 68-58 and the first round of the 2014 NCAA tournament by 56-49 before K-State had a 61-58 win in the 2018 Sweet 16.
  • K-State put on an all-around impressive offensive performance in Friday’s 77-65 win over 14-seed Montana State to earn its first NCAA tournament win since 2018. The Wildcats scored 58.2 percent (32 of 55) from the field, including 65.4 percent (17 of 26) in the second half to score a 2-game sled in NCAA tournament play. It was the fifth-highest field goal percentage in an NCAA tournament game in school history and the highest since the 2017 First Four. They also set the school record for assists (21) in an NCAA tournament game.
  • Seniors Keyontae Johnson (18 points) and Markquis Nowell (17 points) combined for 35 points to lead four Wildcats in double figures in victory at Montana State. Averaging 34.5 points per game, the duo averaged fourth place in the Power Conferences. They were both selected as Third Team All-Americans by The Associated Press, becoming the first duo in school history to receive that honor. Overall, they are only the eighth and ninth players to be recognized by the AP as a first, second or third All-American team, and the first since 2011.
  • Johnson is the sport’s comeback story of the year, having arrived in K-State in August and not played basketball in nearly two seasons since his medical emergency in Florida on Dec. 12, 2020. He has led the Wildcats in both points (17.7 ppg.) and rebounds (7.1 rpg.) while scoring double digits in 32 of 33 games with 9 20-point plays and 6 double-doubles. He paced the team in both scoring (18) and rebounding (8) against Montana State.
  • Nowell had his 16th points/assists double-doubles of his career, including his 11th of his K-State career and eighth this season with his 17 points and 14 assists performance against Montana State. The 14 assists ranked ninth-most in an NCAA tournament game while being the most ever by a wildcat in an NCAA tournament game, dwarfing Steve Henson’s 12 in 1988 (apg.) and third in assist totals (257).
  • K-State made its 32nd NCAA tournament appearance and first since 2019 after winning 23 games, including 11 in the country’s most important conference — the Big 12 — and finishing third with a tie. The Wildcats combined 13 quad 1 and 2 wins, including 9-vs-quad 1 contests. The team was one of 9 schools with at least 9 Quad 1 wins while setting a school record with 7 wins against AP top 25 opponents. This came after he was ranked 10th in the preseason Big 12 poll. The #3 seed is the second highest in school history after the #2 seed in 2010.
  • Big 12 Coach of the Year Jerome Tang is one of 7 first-year head coaches of the 2023 NCAA tournament, including one of 3 first-time coaches, along with Duke’s Jon Scheyer and Fairleigh Dickinson’s Tobin Anderson. His 24 wins ranks fifth among first-year coaches behind Scheyer (27-9), Xavier’s Sean Miller (26-9), Fordham’s Kyle Urgo (25-8) and Missouri’s Dennis Gates (25-10). He is the fourth coach to lead K-State to the NCAA tournament in his freshman year, joining Lon Kruger [20/1986-87]frank martin [21/2007-08] and Bruce Weber [27/2012-13].


Leave a Comment