Canada’s women’s and men’s sevens squads, named after the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, stop in Cape Town – Rugby Canada

The Canada women’s sevens team and men’s sevens team rosters have been confirmed for the 2023 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series stop in Cape Town, South Africa.

December 6, 2022 (Langford, BC) — The Canada women’s sevens team and men’s sevens team rosters have been confirmed for the 2023 stop of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in Cape Town, South Africa.

The tournament takes place from December 9th to 11th at the legendary DHL Stadium and is the second stop of the Sevens Series for the women’s team and the third for the men’s team. Canada’s women’s team will face USA, France and Japan in Pool C, while the men’s team will face South Africa, France and Fiji in Pool A.

The roster of the Canada women’s sevens team, which finished ninth in Dubai after beating Japan in the ninth-place play-off, remains unchanged for Cape Town. Charity Williams, who returned to international duty in Dubai after a long lay-out through injury, led Canada offensively in their first stop of the 2023 series alongside Keyara Wardley, contributing 22 points each.

“We recovered well on Day 2 in Dubai but it depends on the pool game,” said Jack Hanratty, head coach of the women’s sevens team. “Our goal is to be in the top half of the draw and we didn’t achieve that goal. The group worked very hard in the pre-season and we are looking forward to Cape Town and another chance to compete.”

Elias Ergas will join the Canada men’s Sevens team after suffering an injury from Cooper Coats in Cape Town. The team finished fourteenth in Dubai after losing to Kenya in the quarter-finals for ninth place and Spain in the thirteenth-place play-off. After failing to score in Hong Kong, Josiah Morra led the team in Dubai by 25 points. Kal Sager earned his first cap attempt in Canada’s emphatic 13th-place semifinal win over Uganda.

“We certainly had our ups and downs in Dubai. This week we continue to focus on consistency,” said the men’s team of seven’s assistant coach Sean White. “This group has openly accepted every challenge in the last three weeks. They are very proud to represent Canada and every day they push each other to be better than the day before. There is a faith that grows every time we come together.”

Canada’s women’s team of seven will open the tournament on Friday, December 9 at 2:00pm PT / 5:00pm ET against France, while Canada’s men’s seven will open against South Africa at 10:03pm PT / 1:03pm ET .


For the latest information on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series and live coverage, visit the official website There you will find details on the event format, schedule and the latest news.


Broadcasting of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series will be available in Canada via CBC. All events can be streamed live via, the CBC Sports app and the free CBC Gem streaming service.


1. Olivia De Couvreur (Ottawa, ON) – Ottawa-Irish
2. Krissy Scurfield (Canmore, AB) – University of Victoria
3. Renee Gonzalez (Toronto, ON) – University of Victoria
4. Breanne Nicholas (Blenheim, ON) – Kent Havoc RFC
5. Julia Greenshields (Sarnia, ON) – Sarnia Saints
6. Charity Williams (Toronto, ON) – Markham Irish
7. Florence Symonds (Hong Kong) – University of British Columbia
8. Bianca Farella (Montreal, QC) – City of Mont Royal RFC
10. Fancy Bermudez (Edmonton, AB) – Nor’wester Athletic Association/Westshore RFC
12. Keyara Wardley (Vulcan, AB) – Unaffiliated
19. Nakisa Levale (Abbotsford, BC) – Abbotsford RFC
21. Olivia Apps (Lindsay, ON) – Lindsay RFC
23. Shalaya Valenzuela (Abbotsford, BC) – Abbotsford RFC


1. Anton Ngongo (Victoria, BC) – Shipwrecked Wanderers
2. Jake Thiel (Victoria, BC) – James Bay AA
3. D’Shawn Bowen (Toronto, ON) – Pacific Pride
4. Phil Berna (Vancouver, BC) – Vancouver Rowing Club
5. Alex Russell (Chichester, ENG) – McGill University
6. Josiah Morra (Toronto, ON) – Castaway Wanderers/Toronto Saracens
7. Brock Webster (Uxbridge, ON) – Oshawa Vikings RFC
11. Elias Ergas (Vancouver, BC) – University of British Columbia
12. David Richard (Milton, ON) – Mississauga Blues RFC
19. Matthew Oworu (Calgary, AB) – Pacific Pride
23. Thomas Isherwood (Okotoks, AB) – Foothills Lions RFC
33. Kal Sager (Peterborough, ON) – Peterborough Pagans / Trent University
44. Lockie Kratz (Victoria, BC) – Shipwrecked Wanderers / NOLA Gold

Leave a Comment